Cannonball Read IV

A few years ago, Pajiba, a website I read daily, started a challenge for its readers. Since its inception, The Cannonball Read has changed slightly, but the overall goal remains the same: to read and review as many books as you can in one year. This year, my goal is a Full Cannonball, or 52 books by the end of 2012.

This breaks down to a book a week, which sounds very manageable to me. I have a terrible habit of starting overambitious projects, but never actually completing them. I’m hoping that some sense of accountability will help me complete the goal of not just reading 52 books, but actually writing reviews for each book I read. Since the beginning of this year’s Cannonball Read on December 8th, I’ve already read two books, but have not yet written reviews.

I’ve always been a voracious reader, but in the past few years I have not read as much for pleasure as I would have liked. This year, I’m using the fourth Cannonball Read to motivate me to tackle my long list of “books to read”. From reading other Pajibans’ reviews and hearing about ‘Best of’ book lists, I’ve cultivated a long wish list of books that I’ve never actually read, and feel somewhat obligated to know about, as a supposedly well educated person. I probably won’t end up reading most of those ‘good for you’ books, but no matter what I end up reading, I’ll be extremely pleased if I can manage to read and review 52 books at all.

I’m also terrible with blogging and website design things, so I’ll be even more pleased with myself if I can successfully maintain this blog and figure out how to post to the main CBR blog.

~ by lefaquin on December 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
