9. Bossypants by Tina Fey

I got on the waiting list at my library for this book in November. I was number 136 on the list. I thought it would never come. But it finally did, and I was pretty excited. I loved it a lot, but not as much as I wanted to? I think I feel the way about this book that some people may have felt about Mindy Kaling’s book. I may just be a little outside the target demographic, and a little closer to Mindy Kaling’s. I liked it a lot, and I love Tina Fey, her sense of humor, and 30 Rock, but parts of the book didn’t resonate as much with me- I just haven’t gotten to those parts of my life (being the boss, having kids, a husband, and so on).

Nonetheless, I really really enjoyed reading Bossypants, I laughed out loud while reading it, and if Tina Fey ever writes another book, I will absolutely read it. Tina’s first time at planned parenthood was hilarious, and I loved reading more about the behind the scenes stuff at 30 Rock, and the struggles she went through, running her own TV show, impersonating Sarah Palin, and having a life at the same time. When the book first came out a while ago, I remember seeing an ad with Tina Fey- I think one of those mastercard ones, where she said “The most offensive thing anyone can ask me is: how do you juggle it all?” which is repeated here, and I totally agree.

I think my expectations were just a little too high – I expected to be laughing out loud every page, loving every minute of it. While I did laugh out loud quite a bit, and I’m glad I wasn’t reading this in public, it wasn’t as funny as I’d expected it to be. This isn’t a criticism, since I still enjoyed the book, but merely an observation. I keep comparing it to Mindy Kaling’s book, which I devoured in about an hour and a half, lying on my floor. I read Bossypants over the span of a few nights, and while it was engrossing, entertaining, and definitely funny, I didn’t love it as much as I didIs Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? I think it’s all a matter of personal preference, and I would definitely recommend this book to other people, but I’d be more likely to recommend this to my sister, who is a new mom and slightly older than I, than to anyone in my age group.

Pages: 275/2392

~ by lefaquin on March 6, 2012.

One Response to “9. Bossypants by Tina Fey”

  1. […] out the rest of my review here. Share this:ShareTwitterFacebookEmailDiggStumbleUpon Posted by lefaquin in 4 stars – a great book […]

Leave a Reply

 
