15-16. Are you there, Vodka? It’s me, Chelsea and My Horizontal Life by Chelsea Handler

The gist: Meh. I read both of these books back to back on vacation, and while they were mildly entertaining, they didn’t add much to my life. I think one lesson I’ve learned so far from participating in CBR is that if you don’t love a comedian, you won’t love his or her book. I have lukewarm feelings about Chelsea Handler, and I felt pretty similar about her books. I laughed out loud occasionally, but for two comedy books, I wanted to laugh more. If you love Chelsea Handler, you’ll love these books; if you don’t, then you won’t.

Overall, I felt like she had some pretty entertaining subject matter. Handler writes about her family (weird Dad, Mormon sister, other forgettable siblings), her friends (drunks, mostly, but entertaining), and the guys she has slept with. Altogether, it’s a strange group of people, but I felt like the parts didn’t add up to the whole. I felt like the people were funnier than the stories that Handler told about them.

It feels almost like cheating to post a three paragraph review for two whole books, but I kind of felt shorted by Handler. I wanted to like her writing, just like I feel like I want to like her stand up, or her show. I appreciate that she’s so open about her sexual history, and I like that she doesn’t take shit for it. I think that’s pretty awesome, and I just wish I thought she was funnier.

Pages: 477/4297

~ by lefaquin on August 23, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
